43 Comments
Nov 19, 2022Liked by Roni Loren

Wreck by Imagine Dragons

Expand full comment
author

Thank you! I’ll take a listen.

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2022·edited Nov 18, 2022Liked by Roni Loren

Yeah, I have a whole playlist called "Feelings." Just a sampling...

The Sound of Silence (either Simon & Garfunkel or Disturbed version)

Mad World (Gary Jules version. This is probably the saddest song ever, lol).

Both Sides Now by Joni Mitchell

This Woman's Work by Kate Bush

Blue by Batts (feat. Sharon Van Etten)

Walking on a Wire by Richard and Linda Thompson (especially since they were divorcing amongst Richard's affair when Linda had to perform this with him...)

Expand full comment
author

Ooh thanks. I have the first two in my master playlist so we share tastes! I’ll have to check out the others. :)

Expand full comment
Nov 19, 2022Liked by Roni Loren

Nothing sends me down a rabbit hole more than reliving Richard and Linda Thompson. I love the emotion behind musical pairings, but Richard left Linda and their kids for a younger woman and then she still had to go on tour with him. 🤯

Walking on a Wire line:

"Where's the justice

Where's the sense

When all the pain is on my side of the fence?"

Must've been fun to sing. Shoo.

Expand full comment
author

I always had this thought about "Don't Speak" by No Doubt. It's about their breakup but they remained in the band together so had to perform the song together.

Expand full comment
Nov 19, 2022Liked by Roni Loren

"Hurt" by Johnny Cash

"No One Does it Better" by You Me At Six

"Tall Tales Taste like Sour Grapes" by Fair to Midland

"My Life in the Knife Trade" by Boysetfire

"Leave the Lights On" by Meiko

"Better Off Dead" by The Sounds

"If I Had a Heart" by Fever Ray

"I See Fire" by Ed Sheeran

"Pretty Girl (the Way)" by Sugarcult

"Mojo" by Peeping Tom

"Savior" by Rise Against

Expand full comment
author

Ooh, thank you! I don't know a lot of these so I'll have to check them out. :)

Expand full comment

I don't want to be repetitive, so here's some from my Gen-X youth--I'm slightly older than you.

From my K-Tel album *Emotions* with a bunch of 70s sad songs:

Don't It Make My Brown Eyes Blue

Torn Between Two Lovers

Don't Give Up On Us

If I Can't Have You

Emotion

The last two, of the above, were written by the Bee Gees.

It's a Heartache by Bonnie Tyler

These are not from my childhood:

Stay by Sugarland (when Jennifer sang it on an awards show, the emotion was full-on and raw.)

I Wonder by Kellie Pickler (Kellie sang it on an awards show and barely finished it because she was so overcome with emotion. It dealt with her estranged mother.)

Expand full comment
author

I'm in like the last gasp of Gen X born at the end of '79 lol, but yes, I don't know a number of these so I need to look them up. Thanks! :)

Expand full comment
Nov 19, 2022Liked by Roni Loren

Between the bars by Elliot smith

Wish you were here by neck deep

And Roslyn by bon Iver

Expand full comment
author

Thank you! I don't know these, so I'll look them up. :)

Expand full comment
Nov 19, 2022Liked by Roni Loren

A little bit yours by JP Saxe

Forever's gone by Drama

Unbreak my heart by Toni Braxton

Innocence and Sadness by Dermot Kennedy

All I need to hear by the The 1975 (starts at 3:15)

Nothing left to say by Imagine Dragons

Next to Me by Imagine Dragons

Speeding Cars by Walking on Cars

Expand full comment
author

Unbreak My Heart brings me back. :) I don't know all of these, so I'll look them up. Thank you!

Expand full comment
Nov 19, 2022Liked by Roni Loren

On my list is:

Stairway to Heaven by Led Zepplin

You Should Be Here by Cole Swindell

What Hurts The Most by Rascal Flatts

Live Like You Were Dying by Tim McGraw

Highway Don't Care by Tim McGraw/Taylor Swift/Keith Urban

My Heart Will Go On by Celine Dion

Expand full comment
author

Stairway is definitely on my list but I'll have to check out some of these others. I know a few but not all. Thank you!

Expand full comment

First song - hopelessness and tortured soul

Second one - dreamy baratone voice and resignation. Orville Peck is a fascinating artist.

Expand full comment
author

thank you! I'll check him out. :)

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2022Liked by Roni Loren

Wasted Time by The Eagles

When love & hate collide by Def Leppard

Sad eyes by Robert John

Weekend in New England by Barry Manilow

Where’ve you been by Kathy mattea

Come what May by Ewan Mcgregor

Exile by Taylor Swear ft & Bon Iver

I can’t cry hard enough by the Williams brothers

What hurts the most by Rascal flatts

I drive your truck by Lee Brice

I’ll never love again by Lady Gaga

Goodbye time Conway twitty

I’ll get by Eddie money

Expand full comment
author

Ooh this looks like a good list. I have a few of these so our tastes overlap. I’m going to check out the others!

Expand full comment

Smoke and Mirrors by Imagine Dragons

Curse of the blackend eye by Orvile Peck

Expand full comment
author

Thank you! I don’t know these. I’ll check them out!

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2022Liked by Roni Loren

-Never Gonna Be Alone-Jacob Collier, Lizzy Alpine and John Mayer

-Tilikum- Benjamin Francis Leftwich

-Maybe Tomorrow- Stereophonics

-Don’t keep driving- The Paper Kites

Musically beautiful and soul wrenching.

Expand full comment
author

Ooh, thank you! I don’t know these so I’m going to add them to my To Listen list!

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2022Liked by Roni Loren

The Rose, sung by Bette Midler.

Expand full comment
author

A classic!

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2022Liked by Roni Loren

Nothing Compares 2 U, Sinead O’Connor’s version. Chasing Cars by Snow Patrol. That one hits me in the feels every time.

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2022·edited Nov 18, 2022Liked by Roni Loren

Oh, and Still Loving You by Scorpions!

Expand full comment
author

Scorpions! Like that one too

Expand full comment
author

These are both great ones!

Expand full comment

oh I have a whole playlist!

Too Much, Too Little, Too Late by Johnny Mathis and Deniece Williams

Make it Like it Was by Regina Belle

On My Own by Patti LaBelle and Michael McDonald

Or you could just stream my playlist: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/4u0giA4VAi69JbivlmAxqV?si=d7ae068ada2e4cd7

Expand full comment
author

Ooh, thank you! I’ll check it out!

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2022Liked by Roni Loren

Another Heartbreak by Giveon

Glimpse of Us by Joji

Matilda by Harry Styles

Expand full comment
author

All three of these are really pretty! Thanks again!

Expand full comment
author

Thank you! I don't know these. I'm adding them to the To Listen list. :)

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2022Liked by Roni Loren

If you REALLY want to be sad - "Black Gives Way to Blue" - Alice in Chains - written after the death of their original lead singer Layne Staley. Such a good song though, it just haunts me. Honorable mention - "Another Park, Another Sunday" by the Doobie Brothers and "After the Thrill is Gone" by the Eagles.

Expand full comment
author

wow, just listened. Black Gives Way to Blue is gorgeous and terribly sad. Thank you, it's definitely going on the playlist. (haven't listened to the other two yet)

Expand full comment
author

How do I not know that Alice in Chains song?! I have other songs by them on my main playlist. Thank you! I'm going to listen to all of these. :)

Expand full comment

Old Man by Neil Young

Round Here by Counting Crows

Teardrop by Massive Attack

Downeaster Alexa by Billy Joel

Cats in the Cradle by Harry Chapin

From the hubs and me 💙

Expand full comment

The classics were already mentioned so I share some others that are on my playlist too ❤️💔

Ron Pope - Everything

Martina McBride - Concrete Angel

Joshua Kadison - Paris

Dermot Kennedy - Innocence and Sadness

Kelly Clarkson - Piece by Piece

Missy Higgins - Oh Canada

Bette Midler - Wind beneath my wings

Idina Menzel - Last time

Crystal Shawandra - You can let go

Expand full comment

Just left a comment I don't see yet, but in case it does show up, I'll keep this short: "If the World Was Ending" by JP Saxe and Julia Michaels.

Expand full comment

I'm a huge Cole Swindell fan & love his You Should Be Here. I cry every time I hear it, even when I see him live. It's about his dad passing away just before he won his first music awards, so sad

Expand full comment
deletedNov 19, 2022Liked by Roni Loren
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
author

We definitely share music tastes. A number of these are on my list and I'll check out the others. I love that you included Break Stuff, lol. I play that in the car when I just need to let off steam. That one and Killing in the Name by Rage Against the Machine are therapeutic. :)

Expand full comment