57 Comments
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Roni Loren

The Last of Us is amazing! Scary, but beautiful. Fully enjoyed Emily in Paris, and now binging Saving Grace. Loved the book Lessons in Chemistry :)

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Roni Loren

Best book: Shortcake by Katana Collins. Laugh out loud, protective bothers, roudy family - and the mail character is a red head like me!!

TV -Fire Country on CBS, Murdaugh Murders: A Southern Scandal on Netflix

And I’ll give you my favorite podcast: Let’s Go To Court (comedy crime!!)

Expand full comment

ps. Hope all goes well with the surgery and recovery.

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Roni Loren

I’m late to the party but I just started Yellowstone!!

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Roni Loren

Really loved the book “Underland” (nonfiction). Forever re-reading all of Tiffany Reisz.

Agree with others: The Last of Us is fantastic and so is “Shrinking” on AppleTV- so smart and hilarious

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Roni Loren

Best reads: I devoured Scarlett Cole's two rock star series. They were just that freaking good.

Best viewing: The Last of Us is phenomenal storytelling

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Roni Loren

It is a tie The Divine Doughnut Shop by Carolyn Brown and The Road to Me by Laura Drake.

Expand full comment

Because I Could not Wait for Death

Expand full comment

I loved the pilot for *The Company You Keep* with Milo Ventimiglia. When *This Is Us* ended, he brought the crew to his new show. ABC/Hulu

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Roni Loren

Wishing you a speedy recovery.

I just finished reading Mad Honey by Jodi Picoult and Jennifer Finney Boylan, and it was a 5 star read, for sure. Now I'm reading Kelley Armstrong's new release, Haven's Rock. I love her books.

As for TV, I just finished the Netflix series I am a Stalker and while it's not the best true crime TV, it was research for a book I'm writing and I did learn some things and get a few ideas. Hubby and I are binge watching a ridiculous Aussie TV series from the mid-00s called Sea Patrol, about the Australian Navy. It's entertaining light TV, and it's fun to poke holes in the plot based on things our son (a member of the Canadian Navy) has told us about his job.

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Roni Loren

I just finished a 5 volume audio series "Antique Lover's Mysteries" by Deborah Morgan. It was great.

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Roni Loren

My most recent read wasJane Austin's Pride and Prejudice (for the 5th time😋)

And the lastest series has been New Girl!

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Roni Loren

I'm almost finished The Collected Regrets of Clover by Mikki Brammer. It's a debut out in early May and I'm so impressed. I very nearly stayed up way too late last night trying to finish it. Definitely recommend!

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Roni Loren

I am in love with You Made A Fool of Death with your Beauty by Akwaeke Emezi! Gorgeous prose and amazing characters/story/relationships.

Last of Us is incredible.

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Roni Loren

Love & Saffron by Kim Fay is a little warm hug of a book. Your interest in cookbooks and such should make this an especially appropriate read for you, though I'd call it the grace note in a story primarily about friendship and the courage to make the choices closest to your heart.

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Roni Loren

Just finished watching The Law According to Lydia Poet and loved it. And I really enjoyed reading The Empress.

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Roni Loren

I am re-reading Hench by Natalie Zina Walschots, because it is just SO good. It turns the whole superhero genre on it's head in the best moving, funny, impactful way. We are really enjoying The Last of Us. If you have Hulu, try Better Off Ted and Life in Pieces. We watch those whenever we want to laugh out loud. We tried The Company You Keep with Milo Ventimiglia (on ABC and Hulu) and it was good with a strong supporting cast (always a good sign).

Expand full comment

Wishing you a speedy recovery!

Best book I read this month was The paper palace- this is one of those books that will stay with you forever. It was a pageturner ! Last month my fave book was The No Show by Beth Oleary, so cute! And if you're looking for a short very quirky story, The Grownup!

For TV, last year I watched Virgin River - so cheesy but cute and background, and my sister in law recommended Heart of Dixie - a little older, but on FreeVee (a prime app I think) and we've been watching it, again, one of those so bad it's good can't stop watching things.

Expand full comment

Wishing you a speedy and complete recovery, Roni!

Best thing I've watched recently is The Law According to Lidia Poet, a new show on Netflix based on the true story of Italy's first female lawyer. It's part mystery-of-the-week, part feminist rallying cry, part romance. And it's dubbed REALLY well, so you don't have to read any subtitles!

We've also been enjoying 1923, the second prequel to Yellowstone (which I can take or leave). If you haven't watched 1883 yet, it was far and away the best series of television I have ever watched. Beautifully acted and so well-written! Both stream on Paramount Plus.

I've done some comfort re-reading lately, specifically Tessa Dare's Girl Meets Duke series and a couple of favorites from Lisa Kleypas's Ravenels series. Aside from being superbly-executed historical romances, these titles are all narrated in audio by the inimitable Mary Jane Wells, whose voice is -- to me -- truly perfect. A little gravelly, highly elastic, never cloying.

Expand full comment

I hope your surgery went smoothly and your recovery goes well, Roni!

TV wise I’m currently bingeing Justified— a crime drama series featuring a U.S. Marshal who has his own way of doing things (imagine that lol). I had no idea the series is based on Elmore Leonard’s stories until yesterday. While I’m not calling it the best, it is the one that’s got me going back for more right now. Fleischman is on my list!

As for books, the best thing I’ve read lately is Emma Straub’s This Time Tomorrow and I have not yet recovered—heartwarming, heartbreaking and magical all at once.

In search of a comfort read full of rich setting descriptions and family saga that I knew would end well, I read a Susan Wiggs—The Beekeepers Ball. It hit all the right notes for me.

Again, sending you all the best wishes for your recovery!

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Roni Loren

I watched from Scratch (Netflix) based on Tembi Locke memoir. I plan to purchase the book soon it gave me all the feels.

Expand full comment

I have been reading ARCS. The best : Something Spectacular by Alexis Hall & Bewitched by Laura Thalasssa

Expand full comment

I watched Fleishman is in trouble this weekend... so good! Thanks for the recommendation. Another great watch is Bad Sisters on Apple TV+. That one sucked me in last weekend- lots of plot twists!

Expand full comment
Feb 26, 2023·edited Feb 26, 2023

I recently watched Black phone on Prime and was pretty impressed! I totally recommend

READ "Good Girl Fail" (review in progress) but I also recommend

Series Extraordinary Attorney Woo~I hope u see it <3 (netflix) ~Couples Therapy on showtime was really good as well!

I can't find a GOOD audiobook (shrugs)

Good luck on surgery~

Expand full comment

I have been rereading all of Sarah J Maas’s books. Throne of Glass Series. ACOTAR. Now onto Crescent City. I introduced my daughter to them late fall, so I wanted to read as well so we could talk about them.

As for watching, I’m late to Ted Lasso, but the characters have captured my heart. Love it!

Wishing you a smooth recovery!

Expand full comment
deletedFeb 24, 2023Liked by Roni Loren
Comment deleted
Expand full comment